The History Of Canterbury Historic River Tours Visitor Attraction
The River Stour has always been a vital asset to Kent. Under the Romans, it once connected Canterbury to the rest of the empire in Europe and provided an easy crossing into London. Since then, it has been a source of not-so-clean drinking water (although not anymore!) and has powered many local industries such as mills and breweries.
It was on the 26th of March, 1932, that we first took to the river. Known then as the Canterbury Friars’ Ferry, our tours departed from the Blackfriars’ Monastery and were helmed by Able Seaman Brice, a recent retiree of HM Royal Navy and the first of many of Canterbury’s proud boatmen!
In 2008, we celebrated our 75th anniversary and in commemoration, artist and former tour guide, Ben Kidger, was commissioned to create a sculpture for the river known as the Tranquility Flow.
It was unveiled by the Lord Mayor of Canterbury, Councillor Carolyn Parry, and blessed by the Dean of the Cathedral, the Very Reverend Robert Willis.